Wedding DIYs! (picture heavy)

Hello cyberland!  Sorry I have been MIA for the last three weeks but the school year began and it has been CRAZY!  However, our wedding pictures have arrived.. (YAY) and I promised a post about the DIY projects I completed for our day so here it is:

I completed various DIY projects for both the church and the reception hall, so I organized them as such below:

Church

Bride and Groom Changing Signs

Materials:

  • Card stock (amazon)
  • ribbon (michaels)
  • rhinestone sticker (michaels)

I saw a project like this on WeddingBee and loved it!  I made this from word, glued it on black cardstock, and then hot glued the ribbon on for the doorknob and added a rhinestone sticker for sparkle!

Image

Tears of Joy Packets

Materials:

  • “S” Monogram tissues (Hobby Lobby)
  • Stickers (amazon.com)
  • vellum (amazon.com)

I made these tears of joy packets for people at the church in case they needed to cry and as a cute souvenir!  I made a template for the stickers  on Word and stuck them on the vellum and then slide the tissues inside.  Easy!

Image

Ceremony Programs

Materials:

  • Paper punch (scalloped and square)
  • Pink cardstock (Cards and Pockets)
  • White cardstock (amazon)
  • Black cardstock (amazon)
  • Damask ribbon (Michaels)
  • Ribbon punch (Amazon)
  • Glue dots (Michaels)

I designed a logo that I used for a ton of our decorations and then I used a paper punch to cut them out.  To spice up the outside I used a paper punch for the pink paper to make the logo pop.  I glued them on with glue dots.

I attached the pages together by punching two ribbon holes in the binding of the program, and then threading the ribbon through.  Then I tied a bow on each.

WARNING: Time consuming but one of my favorite DIYs!

Flower Girl Dresses / Baskets

My mom made these using a pattern and then made damask baskets for their petals!

Image

Image

Memorial Candles

Materials:

  • Pillar Candles (target)
  • Ribbon (michaels)
  • Hot glue gun (Michaels)
  • Vellum paper (michaels)

I printed a template for the memorial candles on vellum paper and hot glued them onto the pillar candles.  Then I used ribbon to cover the edges of the vellum.  Very sentimental.  I also made unity candles to match!

Reception Hall

Bubbles for Send Off

Materials:

  • Wedding Bubbles (Michaels)
  • Ribbon (michaels)
  • Ribbon punch (amazon.com)
  • Cardstock (Amazon.com)

I created a template from a saying I found on WeddingBee and cut each of them out of the white cardstock and used glue dots to attach them to the black cardstock.  Then I used a ribbon punch to punch one hole and attached each with a ribbon bow.
Also time-consuming!

Image

Image

Drink Stirrers for Cocktail Hour

Materials:

  • Scalloped paper punch (amazon)
  • Square paper punch (amazon)
  • template (wedding bee)
  • Glue dots (Michaels)
  • Hot glue gun (michaels)
  • Drink Stirrers (some bar website)

I found a template on WeddingBee for drink stirrers and altered it to fit my color scheme and font.  Then I cut all paper pieces out with the paper punches.  I glued the white squares onto the black scallop punch with glue dots.  Then I used hot glue to glue them to the both sides of the drink stirrers!  So cute!

Image

Flip Flops / Basket

Materials:

  • Flip flops (michaels)
  • Basket (Michaels)
  • Ribbon (michaels)
  • Damask punch (Etsy)
  • Cardstock (amazon)
  • Stamps (Joann Fabric)

My MOH and I attached the ribbon around each pair of flip flops to keep them together, and then I tied the damask punches on with ribbon.  I stamped each punch as “S” “M” or “L.”  I made the sign with a template on word I created to match my other signs, and then hot glued it to the ribbon around the basket.

Image

More DIYs

Image

Image

Picture Guestbook

I used Photobook America to make a guestbook for the guests with our engagement pictures.  Awesome keepsake!

Image

Cake Topper

Materials:

  • Mirror “S” cake topper (ordered online)
  • Crystal Glue (amazon)
  • Crystal tweezers (amazon)
  • Swavorski Crystals (amazon)

I purchased a custom-made S cake topper from an online site and then used crystal glue to glue 2 different size swavorski crystals onto the topper.  Took a few hours but really set the tone for the rest of my sparkly decorations.

Image

Miscellaneous

My Bride Robe

Materials:

  • Black satin robe (Target)
  • “Bride” rhinestone iron-on (Etsy)

I simply ironed on the Bride rhinestone word onto this robe I bought from Target.  I wore it all morning on the day of, and it made me feel like a queen!  Plus, look at the cute pics :).

Image    Image

Bridesmaids Hangers

Materials:

  • Wood hangers (the container store)
  • Ribbon (Michaels)
  • Sparkly Stickers (Michaels)

I used stickers to spell each of the ladies’ names on the hangers and then tied bows on the top.  Then I put them in their bags for their dresses for the day of!

Image

Bridesmaids Tank Tops

Materials:

  • Black Hanes Tank Tops (Walmart)
  • Silver Iron-Ons (Hobby Lobby)

I bought the tanks tops in various sizes from Walmart.com and then I bought the iron ons from Hobby Lobby.  The great thing about the iron ons were that they came in “Bride,” “Maid of Honor,” “Matron of Honor” and “Bridesmaid.”  Perfect!  Simply ironed them on and stuck them in the bridesmaids’ gifts for the morning of!

Image

Bouteniers

Materials:

  • Corsage Pins (Michaels)
  • Floral tape (Michaels)
  • Floral glue (Michaels)
  • Roses (Fiftyflowers.com)

We made all of the wedding party’s flowers including corsages and bouteniers.  We ordered the gorgeous flowers from FiftyFlowers.com and my bridesmaids are AMAZING and helped me on Friday before the wedding.

Image

Bridesmaid Bouquets

Materials:

  • Floral tape (Michaels)
  • Ribbon (Michaels)
  • Roses (Fiftyflowers.com)

We trimmed all of the stems multiple times over the three days they were at my Aunt’s house, and then we used floral tape and ribbon to make the ladies’ bouquets. Mine is the only one below that wasn’t from us! 🙂

Image

Rehearsal Dinner Picture Frame Mat

Materials:

  • Picture mat
  • Permanent Markers / Calligraphy Pens

We had everyone at the rehearsal dinner sign and write a message to us on the mat for a keepsake.  Now it is with a wedding picture of us on our wall! So easy and thoughtful!

Image

Leave a Reply

