Meal tips for the busy couple!

When I’m eating leftovers at work in my classroom or on lunch duty I often get the question: “How do you have time to make all that food?!”  So I decided to answer that very question today.  As mentioned last night, it starts from planning out my meals on the weekends, starting from Pinterest or other online recipes.  Then I make my shopping list from those recipes.. that way, I’ve already gotten an idea of what I’m going to be making on what day.  This is half of the battle! If you already know what you’re making during the week you won’t have to waste time worrying about that during the week.  Then, the other key is the prepping ahead of time!  If I’m going to make a meal for the next day, I try to cut up as many things as I can ahead of time, and sometimes pre-cook things the night before if possible.  Lastly, the crockpot is my best friend!  The best thing about a crockpot is that you can prep your meal in the morning, throw it in, and have a warm meal awaiting your arrival.  Don’t get scared of the crockpot in the Spring and Summer months-  it’s not just for Winter!

Below I describe an example of how I prepare yummy meals for my hubby and I during the week.  Enjoy!

Today’s dinner plan was crockpot stuffed peppers.  I had never thought of making them in the crockpot, but honestly it makes so much sense!  Usually you already cook the meat ahead of time anyway, so the only difference is that you get a nice soft and roasted pepper without waiting for the oven!

Here is the recipe I used with a few modifications.

Image

The night before I prepared the meat, rice and vegetable mix as described.

Image

Then I put it in the fridge with plastic wrap over it, ready to fill my peppers in the morning.  Then I even cut the tops off the peppers and cleaned them, and then stored them in a closed bowl (as shown in the top picture).

The next morning, I stuffed the peppers and laid them in the crockpot.

Image

Then I poured sauce in the bottom of the pot, with a little bit of water as well.

Image

Then I went to work with the crockpot on low for 8 hours.  When we got home it smelled AMAZING!  I threw a little bit of shredded cheddar on each of the tops, and then waited about 5-10 minutes for the cheese to melt and VOILA!  Beautiful dinner!

Image

Leave a Reply

