Fall Burlap Wreath DIY

I finally made a burlap wreath not too long ago, but it wasn’t my favorite.

Image

I made it as an Easter wreath, and it was okay, but I made another wreath for Easter that I liked better:

Image

But I’ve been eyeing up some Fall wreaths because I LOVE FALL!  Not only do I love Fall, but with being off for summer, I have some extra time for a few weeks.  I kept seeing different Burlap wreaths, and upon researching, I found out there are 2 different ways to make them:

Image

The one above was created like I made mine with a styrofoam wreath and burlap squares… I will explain in a second!  And then the one below, was created with a wire wreath and a big long roll of burlap:

Image

I found them both on Pinterest, and decided I was a little too nervous to do the one with wire frame, because I didn’t quite get the directions I kept reading everywhere.

So instead I followed the directions you can find here, and made this!

Image

On the blog above they explain it a lot more in detail than I am going to.

Step 1:  I cut burlap I had bought for a friend’s bridal shower that we didn’t end up using into 4″ squares.  (or really rectangles because I got lazy, but DEFINITELY cut them into squares.)  This took about an hour.

Image

Step 2:  You fold each square into a bubble as described on the blog above.  Her tutorial is the best I’ve found because it shows good pictures.  Essentially you take it and fold it into a triangle, then fold all the sides in the create a bubble and pin on.  You just make it look good.  If it doesn’t look good, pull a square off and try it again!Image

Step 3:  Repeat!  Like 100 times.

Image

CAUTION! IT MAKES A MESS!  See all of those strings?  Those were all over me, my table, my shirt, my floor, etc.  But when finished it looked amazing!

Image

Step 4: Decorate!    I choose Fall stems from Michaels, but you can customize for the holiday or occasion.

Image

At this point I usually post the wreath on my Etsy shop, but I like this one so much I don’t think I want to sell it!

6 thoughts on “Fall Burlap Wreath DIY

  1. Pingback: 10 DIY Fall Wreaths - Mrs. Monologues

  2. Pingback: How to Make a Burlap Wreath: 37 DIY Tutorials and Ideas | Guide Patterns

  3. Pingback: How to Make a Burlap Wreath: 30 DIY Tutorials | Guide Patterns

  4. Pingback: How to Make Fall Wreaths: 54 Easy Tutorials | Guide Patterns

Leave a Reply

