Holy Cannoli!

Today, on another boring summer day (feel free to insert eye roll here), I decided it was time to break in my pizzelle maker I received from my mother-in-law for Christmas!  All the Italians in my family have their own recipe, and they told me that it takes a little bit to get warmed up with the pizzelle maker, or to get a feel for it.  They were definitely right! My pizzelle maker’s directions actually said that they would be fully cooked between 20-40 seconds.

Since it was the first time making them, I decided to stick with something tried and true: The Williams-Sonoma’s recipe.  Something I like about this recipe is that it just uses simple Vanilla instead of Anise extract.  I’m not a large of Anise-flavored things, but I do like Almond.  But I LOVE Vanilla. Plus, who doesn’t have it on hand?

Ingredients:

  • 3 eggs
  • 3/4 cup sugar
  • 8 Tbs. (1 stick) unsalted butter, melted, plus
    more for brushing
  • 2 tsp. vanilla extract
  • 1 tsp. finely grated lemon zest
  • 1 3/4 cups all-purpose flour
  • 2 tsp. baking powder

I followed their directions as well.

Directions:

In a mixing bowl, whisk together the eggs and sugar until light yellow and thick ribbons fall from the whisk, 2 to 3 minutes. Add the 8 Tbs. melted butter, the vanilla and lemon zest and whisk until blended.  (NOTE:  I loved the lemon zest!  It makes SUCH a difference!)Over a sheet of waxed paper, sift together the flour and baking powder. Fold the flour mixture into the egg mixture in two additions, folding each addition just until blended.

(NOTE: I know its easy to be lazy at this step, but the sifting made a big difference and I am a true believer of folding in the dry ingredients.  It makes the texture SO much better!)
pizzelle1
Heat a pizzelle maker according to the manufacturer’s instructions. Brush lightly with butter and spoon about 1 Tbs. of the batter onto the pizzelle maker.  (I used Pam) If any batter oozes out, cut it off immediately. Cook according to the manufacturer’s instructions until golden brown. Transfer the pizzelle to a wire rack and let cool. Repeat with the remaining batter.
pizzelle2
At this point as SOON as you take them off the pizzelle maker, while still hot, you can shape them using a cannoli form, or you can just roll them with your fingers like I did.  I placed them seam-side down to cool so they would stay in that formation.  Or you can just make normal pizzelles and let them cool flat with some powdered sugar.  Then flip them, and dust them again!  I used my sifter again for the powdered sugar.  That’s how you get it in a real thin layer.
pizelle3
Now, after eating a bunch of the “messed up pizzelles” ;), I made the filling for the cannolis.  I adapted the recipe from others I saw:
15 oz. container fat free ricotta (shhh.. don’t tell Rob!)
3/4 cup powdered sugar
2 tsp. vanilla extract
Mini chocolate chips— add these (or don’t!) to your liking.
lemon zest
I beat this all up until it was all mixed together, and then allowed it to sit in the refrigerator for a few hours while I finished dinner.  The longer it sits, the better it tastes!

Lastly, I used a piping bag to pipe the filling into the shells.  Then I dusted them with powdered sugar.  BOY were they good!  My husband even said, “I think this is the best thing you’ve ever made!”   Success! 🙂

pizzelle4

Leave a Reply

